Reminiscing my beloved St. Joseph The Worker Parish


St. Jospeh The worker Parish, Sasa, Davao City

As I went home last month, I was able to meet and see the church were I used to serve…The St. Joseph The Worker Parish, Sasa-Pampanga, Davao City. In that church, I became:

+ an altar server for about 5 years,

+ choir member for 3years,

+ psalmist for about 1 year,

+ school catechist for 10 months,

+ Youth Leader (Pangulo sa Batan-on) in our GKK (BEC) for about 2 years,

+ School Lector for about 2 years

+ Teatro ni San Jose for about 2 years

Brief History

This parish is established on the year 1964 with the help of the PME fathers. Presently, It is located at the north part of Davao City where Sasa Port, just 1 km away from the parish and the Davao International Airport (F. Bangoy International Airport) also resides.

It is divided into 9 Zones wherein it stretches from the north of DAMOSA, left part of Lanang, Lanang Beach Club up to Km. 11, Sasa and jump the left part of the Pres. Carlos P. Garcia Highway (La Verna Hills, Buhangin). As to estimate, there are about 100,000 members of that parish and is still increasing.

Development

When I walked in going to St Joseph parish (since from the highway, you need to walk for about 6-10 minutes before you could get there), I really cherished the times when I used to do that routine especially as I run directly to the parish convent for my schedule . As I saw it, I am flabbergasted with the amazing beauty of the parish. It has improved a lot from the time I left Davao City on the year 2008.

Unexpectedly, I saw from the Fr. Godbout Center (Near the parish building and the venue for the yearly activities of the church) that the Teatro ni San Jose are preparing for the youth night. I had a good talk with them especially that some members where my comrades in the Knights of the Altar. I heard from them that the parish had been so active with regards to ecumenism talk since some communities of our parish have muslim inhabitants. The Parish according from them had organized various activities by clustering the GKK (BECs) to small ones in order to accommodate the spiritual needs of each family. They also shared to me that the parish installed aircondition units and is the first in Davao to make a Catholic Parish be airconditioned, where I personally saw that outstanding development.

I am very thankful that because of this parish, my doubting years is gone and also to the leaders and workers of the parish that helped me mould my faith to become strong and effective.

  1. #1 by Christian on September 26, 2010 - 8:10 am

    hello can i ask your name because I am an alter server to at St. Joseph The Worker Parish, Sasa-Pampanga, Davao City I think for 2 years.!^_^

    • #2 by flewen on October 25, 2010 - 12:35 pm

      my name is Aran Cabreros, altar server in the year 2001-2008..But i still continue myself to live as an altar server in my heart…

  2. #3 by Robert on May 10, 2011 - 5:24 pm

    “As to estimate, there are about 100,000 members of that parish…”
    it is also included the dead people, and people who converted into different religions

    “…and is still increasing.”
    it includes the infants who doesn’t know anything about the church

    • #4 by flewen on May 10, 2011 - 6:00 pm

      what is this all about? are you jealous with the statistics?

      infants are included because they are always welcome to the church. the Bible already stated that:

      Mark 10:14
      ” Whom when Jesus saw, he was much displeased and says to them: Suffer the little children to come unto me and forbid them not: for of such is the kingdom of God.”
      [DRV]

      are they not included to become part of Christ’s church?

    • #5 by flewen on May 10, 2011 - 6:07 pm

      you said: it is also included the dead people, and people who converted into different religions

      answer: no! the GKKs [Basic Ecclesial Communities] through the Community Leader are always monitoring the number of Catholic Adherents in each community. Deceased individuals are not already counted to that statistics.There me be some GKKs who did not update their surveys but it is only minimal. Were you able to visit davao and its GKKs?

      While those who converted to other religions are also counted. The Purok Leaders are also submitting the names of the persons who are not Catholics to the Catholic Community Leader as their loyal respect to the needs of the GKK to monitor the numbers of their members.

  3. #6 by Joanne Villarba on January 12, 2012 - 11:53 am

    Umm, do you know the different organizations that the parish has?

    • #7 by flewen on February 2, 2012 - 3:34 am

      at st. Joseph Parish po ba ang tinutukoy ninyo?

  4. #8 by Robertson Joseph on April 5, 2012 - 3:34 am

    i remember the american priest fr bill from maryknoll congregation,but i notice that he already pass away🙂 do you know hes complete name?so i can still offer a prayer for him, R.I.P fr bill thanks:)

  5. #9 by Robertson Joseph on April 5, 2012 - 3:35 am

    i remember the american priest fr bill from maryknoll congregation,but i notice that he already pass away😦 do you know hes complete name?so i can still offer a prayer for him, R.I.P fr bill thanks🙂

    • #10 by flewen on April 19, 2012 - 4:27 pm

      yes, I remember Fr. Bill Heffernan, MM, He;s a good priest though very strict when it comes to the sequence of the mass. I was an alter server that time when he was still alive…thanks for posting..what GKK are you?

Leave a Reply

